Alumni




Alumni - Space Physics


A B C D F G H J K L M N P Q R S T V W Y Z

Aghdaie, Bernard H.
BS: Physics-1982, MS: Physics- 1984, PhD: Physics- 1989; Advisor: Robert J. Friauf
Current Position:
E-mail:
WEB SITE:
Ahmadian, Mohammad T.
PhD: Physics- 1979; Advisor: Thomas P. Armstrong
Current Position: Associate Professor, School of Mechanical Engineering, Sharif University of Technology
E-mail: ahmadian@sharif.edu
WEB SITE:
Alinejad, Naser
PhD: Physics- 1995; Advisor: Thomas P. Armstrong
Current Position:
E-mail:
WEB SITE:
Allen, Michael
MS: Physics- 1984; Advisor: Thomas P. Armstrong
Current Position: Public Affairs manager, Exxon Neftegas Limited, Sakhalin-1sland, Russia
E-mail:
WEB SITE:
Bell, Edwin V.
MS: Physics- 1982; PhD: Physics- 1990; Advisor: Thomas P. Armstrong
Current Position: Staff, Space Physics Data Facility, Goddard Space Flight Center, NASA
E-mail: ed.bell@gsfc.nasa.gov
WEB SITE:
Bird, Michael K.
MS: Physics- 1968; PhD: Physics- 1972; Advisor: David Beard
Current Position:Research Scientist, Institute for Radio Astronomy, University of Bonn
E-mail: mbird@astro.uni-bonn.de
WEB SITE:
Bowen, Leah
MS: Physics- 2006; Advisor: Thomas E. Cravens
Current Position:
E-mail:
WEB SITE:
Boufaida, Moncef
MS: Physics- 1987; PhD: Physics- 1995; Advisor: Thomas P. Armstrong
Current Position:
E-mail:mboufaida@utsi.com
WEB SITE:
Brandon, Scott T.
BS: Physics- 1978; MS: Physics- 1981; PhD: Physics- 1984; Advisor: Thomas P. Armstrong
Current Position:Physicist, Lawrence Livermore Lab, Livermore, CA
E-mail: brandon1@llnl.gov
WEB SITE:
Briggs, Patrick R.
PhD: Physics- 1981; Advisor: Thomas P. Armstrong
Current Position: Professor, Physics, Citadel, Charleston, SC
E-mail:pat.briggs@citadel.edu
WEB SITE: http://www.citadel.edu/physics/briggs.html
Britt, Lee I.
MS: Physics- 1978; Advisor: Thomas P. Armstrong
Current Position:
E-mail:
WEB SITE: 
Brox, Michael
MS: Computational Physics and Astronomy - 1994; Advisor: Thomas P. Armstrong
Current Position: DE Program Manager, USAF, Potomac Falls, VA
E-mail: broxmk@aol.com
WEB SITE: 
Brull, Christopher R.
BS: Physics - 1994; MS: Computational Physics and Astronomy - 1998; Advisor: Thomas P. Armstrong
Current Position:Faculty, Math and Computer Science, Fort Hays State University, Fort Hays, KS
E-mail: cbrull@fhsu.edu
WEB SITE: http://www.fhsu.edu/macs/macsnewsletter/newfaculty.shtml
Buckley, John E.
MS: Physics- 1993; Advisor: Thomas P. Armstrong
Current Position:
E-mail:
WEB SITE:

Calbert, Roosevelt
MA: Physics - 1970; PhD: Physics- 1971; Advisor: David Beard
Current Position: Retired, Director of the Division of Human Resource Development, Directorate for Education and Human Resources, NSF
E-mail: tncalbert@aol.com
WEB SITE:

Chaky, Rebecca C.
MS: Physics - 1976, PhD: Physics- 1981; Advisor: Jacob Enoch / Thomas P. Armstrong
Current Position: Principal Engineer, Boeing Corp.
E-mail: rebecca.c.chaky@boeing.com
WEB SITE: http://www.mathquilt.com/

Chen, Gloria L.
MS: Physics - 1972, PhD: Physics- 1975; Advisor: Thomas P. Armstrong
Current Position: Senior Scientist, Chung-Shan Institute of Science and Technology,Tau-Yuan, Taiwan
E-mail:
WEB SITE:
Choe, Joon Y.
PhD: Physics- 1972; Advisor: Thomas P. Armstrong/David Beard
Current Position:
E-mail:
WEB SITE:
Clark, John D.
MS: Physics- 2005; Advisor: Thomas E. Cravens
Current Position: Stationed in Afghanistan
E-mail: jdclark@ku.edu
WEB SITE:
Decker, Robert B.
PhD: Physics- 1979; Advisor: Thomas P. Armstrong
Current Position: Physicist, Johns Hopkins University Applied Physics
E-mail: robert.decker@jhuapl.edu
WEB SITE:
Duman, Timothy A.
PhD: Physics- 1999, MS: Computational Physics and Astrophysics- 1992, BS: Physics - 1988; Advisor: Thomas P. Armstrong
Current Position: Chair and Assoc. Professor, Dept. of Physics and Earth Sciences, University of Indianapolis, IN
E-mail: tduman@uindy.edu
WEB SITE:
Frierdich, Steven R.
MS: Physics- 1997; Advisor: Thomas P. Armstrong
Current Position:Software Engineer, Tybrin Engineering, FL
E-mail: sun_water_snow@hotmail.com
WEB SITE:
Gallton, Daniel A.
MS: Physics- 1999; Advisor: Thomas P. Armstrong
Current Position: Test Pilot Engineer, USAF
E-mail:
WEB SITE:
Giacalone, Joseph
PhD: Physics- 1991; Advisor: Thomas P. Armstrong
Current Position: Professor,Dept. of Planetary Sciences, LPL, University of Arizona
E-mail: giacalon@lpl.arizona.edu
WEB SITE: http://www.lpl.arizona.edu/resources/faculty/faculty.php?nom=Giacalone.html
Gomez, Juan A.
MS: Physics- 1994; PhD: Physics- 2000; Advisor: Thomas P. Armstrong
Current Position:
E-mail: jgomez5457@msn.com
WEB SITE:
Haggerty, Dennis K.
MS: Physics- 1993; PhD: Physics- 1997; Advisor: Thomas P. Armstrong
Current Position:Physicist, Johns Hopkins University Applied Physics Lab
E-mail:dennis.Haggerty@jhuapl.edu
WEB SITE:
Harter, Terrance L.
MS: Physics- 1972; Advisor: D. Beard
Current Position:
E-mail: brianlam94@hotmail.com
WEB SITE:
Hetzel, Ralf
MS: Physics- 1984; Advisor: Thomas P. Armstrong
Current Position:Project Manager, Risk Controller, Dresdner Bank AG, Germany
E-mail:ralf.hetzel@dresdner-bank.com
WEB SITE:
Hewett, Dennis W.
PhD: Physics- 1973; Advisor: Thomas P. Armstrong
Current Position: Nuclear Physicist, Lawrence Livermore National Lab
E-mail: hewett1@llnl.gov
WEB SITE:
Hirschi, Dean C.
MS: Physics- 1981; PhD: Physics- 1987; Advisor: David Beard
Current Position:Associate Professor, Physics & Astronomy, Washington State Community College, Marietta, OHIO
E-mail: dhirschi@wscc.edu
WEB SITE:
Holmes, Michael R.
PhD: Physics- 1988; Advisor: Thomas P. Armstrong
Current Position: Project Manager, Solar Energy Propulsion, Air Force Research Lab, Edwards Air Force Base, CA
E-mail: michael.holmes@edwards.af.mil
WEB SITE:
Hong, Xiaodong
MS: Computational Physics and Astronomy - 1995; Advisor: Thomas P. Armstrong
urrent Position:
E-mail:
WEB SITE:
Hoppe, Aaron
BS: Physics - 1998; MS: Computational Physics and Astronomy - 2002; Advisor: Thomas Cravens
Current Position: Graduate student, APSS, George Mason University
E-mail: ahoppe@gmu.edu
WEB SITE:
Howell, Edward J.
BS: Physics - 1992; Advisor: Thomas E. Cravens
Current Position: Entrant Officer, Kansas City MO. Police Department
E-mail: ejhesq@worldnet.att.net
WEB SITE:
Huang, Mai-Nan
MS: Physics- 1977; Advisor: David Beard
Current Position:
E-mail: d_foub@yahoo.fr
WEB SITE:
Huang, Yao-Hui
MS: Physics - 1966; PhD: Physics- 1971; Advisor: David Beard
Current Position:
E-mail:
WEB SITE:
Hwang, Kang
MS: Physics- 1970; Advisor: Thomas P. Armstrong
Current Position:Engine Engineer, Navistar International
E-mail:
WEB SITE:
Irons, Lee
MS: Physics- 1990; Advisor: Thomas P. Armstrong
Current Position:Project Engineer, Newport News Ship Building
E-mail: leeirons@iname.com
WEB SITE:
Jiang (Wu) , Ruo Laura
MS: Computational Physics and Astronomy- 1988; Advisor: Thomas P. Armstrong
Current Position: Software Engineer, IBM Corp.
E-mail:laurawu@us.ibm.com
WEB SITE:
Karnaze, William C.
BA: Physics - 1967, MS: Physics- 1969; Advisor: Thomas P. Armstrong
Current Position: Professor, Physics, Carlsen Center/Johnson County Community College, Kansas City, KS
E-mail:bkarnaze@jccc.edu
WEB SITE:
Keller, Charles N.
BA: Physics - 1976, PhD: Physics- 1993; Advisor: Thomas Cravens
Current Position:Faculty, Cornerstone University, Grand Rapids, MI
E-mail: charles_n_keller@cornerstone.edu
WEB SITE:
Kessel, Ramona L.
MS: Physics- 1986; PhD: Physics- 1986; Advisor: Thomas P. Armstrong
Current Position:Astrophysicist, NASA Headquarters
E-mail:Ramona.L.Kessel@NASA.gov
WEB SITE: http://quest.arc.nasa.gov/women/bios/mk.html
Konstadinidis, Natalie L.
MS: Physics- 1997; Advisor: Thomas Cravens
Current Position:
E-mail: creco3@yahoo.com
WEB SITE:
Kurzidim, Jan
MS: Physics- 2005; Advisor: Thomas E. Cravens
Current Position:
E-mail:
WEB SITE:
Kutchko, Frank J.
PhD: Physics- 1983; Advisor: Thomas P. Armstrong
Current Position:
E-mail:
WEB SITE:
Kwong, Robin B. W.
MS: Physics- 1975; Advisor: Thomas P. Armstrong
Current Position:
E-mail: rbkwong@aol.com
WEB SITE:
Laird, Claude M.
BA: Physics- 1978, MS: Physics- 1981; Ph.D.: Special Studies. LAS - 1986; Advisor: Thomas P. Armstrong
Current Position:Research Associate, Center for Remote Sensing of Ice Sheets
E-mail: claird@ku.edu
WEB SITE: http://www.cresis.ku.edu/~claird/
Ledvina, Stephen A.
PhD: Physics- 2001; Advisor: Thomas Cravens
Current Position:Research Scientist,Space Sciences Lab, UC, Berkeley
E-mail:ledvina@ssl.berkeley.edu
WEB SITE:
Leonard (Duman), Michelle E.
MS: Physics- 1999; Advisor: Thomas P. Armstrong
Current Position:Manager, Client Services, Computing Services, Adult Learning, University of Indianapolis
E-mail: mduman@uindy.edu
WEB SITE:
Lin, Yih-Kang
MS: Physics- 1980; Advisor: David Beard
Current Position:Staff, ATT, Holmdel, NJ
E-mail:ymlin@att.com
WEB SITE:
Lindgren, Carleton J.
BS: Physics - 1989; PhD: Physics- 1995; Advisor: Thomas Cravens
Current Position: Quantitative Analyst, R.W. Beck
E-mail: jlindgren@rwbeck.com
WEB SITE:
Luthey, Joe L.
PhD: Physics- 1970; Advisor: David Beard
Current Position:
E-mail: jluthey@pacbell.net
WEB SITE:
Manweiler, Jerry W.
BS: Physics - 1985; MS: Physics- 1987; PhD: Physics- 1998; Advisor: Thomas P. Armstrong
Current Position: GM,Co-owner, Fundamental Technologies,LLC
E-mail:Manweiler@FTECS.com
WEB SITE:
Maurellis, Ahilleas N.
PhD: Physics - 1999; Advisor: Thomas Cravens
Current Position:
E-mail:A.N.Maurellis@sron.nl
WEB SITE:
McKee, Colleen
BS: Physics- 1987; MS: Physics- 1988; Advisor: Thomas P. Armstrong
Current Position:Spacecraft Engineering, SES Americom
E-mail:colleen.mckee@ses-americom.com
WEB SITE:
Mosley, Chris J.
MS: Physics- 1997; Advisor: Thomas P. Armstrong
Current Position:Faculty, Metropolitan Community College, Lee's Summit, MO
E-mail: cmosley@kcmetro.cc.mo.us
WEB SITE:
Nikitin, Alexei V.
PhD: Physics- 1999; Advisor: Thomas P. Armstrong
Current Position: Co-owner, A3RD, LLC
E-mail:nikitin@avatekhllc.com
WEB SITE:
Nonnast, Joseph H.
PhD: Physics- 1982; Advisor: Thomas P. Armstrong
Current Position: ATK, Mission Research Corp., Longmire Lab, CO
E-mail: joeyn@mrcll.com
WEB SITE:
Paonessa, Mark T.
PhD: Physics- 1984; Advisor: Thomas P. Armstrong
Current Position:
E-mail: mark_paonessa@sunflower.com
WEB SITE:
Patterson, James D.
PhD: Physics - 2003; Advisor: Thomas P. Armstrong
Current Position: Assistant Professor - Physics and Astronomy, Johnson County Community College - Kansas City, MO.
E-mail: dpatter@jccc.edu
WEB SITE:http://staff.jccc.net/dpatter/
Predmore, Kevin
MS: Physics- 1987; Advisor: David Beard
Current Position: Physicist/Engineer, Washington Navy Yard
E-mail: PREDMOREKW@NAVSEA.NAVY.MIL
WEB SITE:
Price, Jack L.
MS: Physics- 1978; Advisor: Thomas P. Armstrong
Current Position:Staff, Naval Surface Warfare Center, MD
E-mail:
WEB SITE:
Propp, Keith E.
PhD: Physics- 1984; Advisor: David Beard
Current Position:Computational Physicist, Colorado Springs
E-mail: bkpropp@rmi.net
WEB SITE:
Puhl-Quinn, Pamela
PhD: Physics- 1996 ; Advisor: Thomas Cravens
Current Position:Experimental Space Plasma Group, University of New Hampshire
E-mail: pamela.puhlquinn@unh.edu
WEB SITE:
Querry, M. Diane
MS: Physics- 1975; Advisor: David Beard
Current Position: Artist/Painter
E-mail: querry@querryart.com
WEB SITE: http://www.querryart.com/
Reimer, Jay B.
MS: Physics- 1977; Advisor: David Beard
Current Position:Engineering Manager, Texas Instruments
E-mail:
WEB SITE:
Rezvani, Gholam Ali
BS: Physics - 1982, MS: Physics - 1985; PhD: Physics - 1990; Advisor: Tom Armstrong
Current Position:Director of Device Characterization and Modeling, Resonext Communications, Inc.
E-mail: ali.rezvani@resonext.com
WEB SITE:
Robertson, Ina P.
BS: Physics - 1996; MS: Computational Physics and Astronomy - 2001; Ph.D. Physics - 2004Advisor: Thomas Cravens
Current Position: Research Associate, Physics & Astronomy, KU
E-mail:robertin@ku.edu
WEB SITE: 
Sams (Hengst), Alice T.
MS: Physics- 1978; Advisor: David Beard
Current Position:Rancher, Bakersfield, CA
E-mail: moondust@savy2k.net
WEB SITE: http://www.savy2k.net/~moondust/index.htm
Shen, Wen-wu
MS: Physics - 1966; PhD: Physics- 1969; Advisor: David Beard
Current Position: Electronics Engineer, US Dept. of Justice
E-mail:wenwushen@yahoo.com
WEB SITE:
Shodhan, Sheela
MS:Computational Physics and Astronomy- 1989; Advisor: Thomas P. Armstrong
Current Position:
E-mail: sheela_sh45@yahoo.com
WEB SITE:
Simunac, Kristin D. C.
MS: Physics- 2002; Advisor: Thomas P. Armstrong
Current Position: Grad Student, Physics Department, University of New Hampshire
E-mail: ksimunac@cisunix.unh.edu
WEB SITE: http://www.cmemusic.com/
Sinha, Indrani
MS: Physics - 1993; MS: Computational Physics and Astronomy- 1994; Advisor: Thomas Cravens
Current Position:Graduate Student, Dept. of Physics, Texas A&M University
E-mail: indrani@physics.tamu.edu
WEB SITE:
Stone, Shawn M.
PhD: Physics- 2000; Advisor: Thomas P. ArmstrongCurrent Position: Professor, Buena Vista University
E-mail: stone@bvu.edu
WEB SITE:
Tariq, Gul F.
PhD: Physics- 1984; Advisor: Thomas P. Armstrong
Current Position:Director,Pakistan Research Institute, Islamabad, Pakistan
E-mail: drgft@isb.paknet.com.pk
WEB SITE:
Venner, Marty J.
MS: Physics- 1987; Advisor: Thomas P. Armstrong
Current Position:Staff, Air Force Research Lab, Propulsion Directorate
E-mail: marty.venner@edwards.af.mil
WEB SITE:
Vitt, Francis M.
MS: Physics- 1994; PhD: Physics- 1997; Advisor: Thomas Cravens
Current Position: Atmospheric Chemistry Division, Earth and Sun Systems Lab,NCAR, Boulder, CO
E-mail: fvitt@ucar.edu
WEB SITE:
Wainright (Davis), Elizabeth J.
MS: Physics- 1978; Advisor: Thomas P. Armstrong
Current Position:
E-mail:
WEB SITE:
Wang, Di M.
MS: Physics- 1985; PhD: Physics - 1990; Advisor: Robert J. Friauf
Current Position:
E-mail:diminwang@yahoo.com
WEB SITE:
Wells, Connie J.
MS: Computational Physics & Astronomy- 2000; Advisor: Thomas Cravens
Current Position: Chair, Science Dept., Pembroke Hill School, KC, MO
E-mail:cwells@pembrokehill.org
WEB SITE:
Willett, Lori J.
MS: Physics- 1985; Advisor: Thomas P. Armstrong
Current Position:
E-mail:
WEB SITE:
Wu, Danmei
MS: Computational Physics & Astronomy - 1991, Advisor: Thomas E. Cravens
Current Position: Senior Network Design Engineer, Sprint Corp.
E-mail: danmei.wu@mail.sprint.com
WEB SITE:
Wu, Ernest Yue
MS: Physics- 1986; PhD: Physics - 1989; Advisor: Thomas P. Armstrong
Current Position: Engineer, Semiconductor Research & Development Center, IBM Corp.
E-mail: EYWU@us.ibm.com
WEB SITE:
Young, Bin
MS: Computational Physics & Astronomy - 1991; Advisor: Thomas E. Cravens
Current Position: Senior Staff Engineer, Boeing
E-mail: bin.young@boeing.com
WEB SITE:
Yu, Bernard H.
PhD: Physics- 1992; Advisor: Thomas P. Armstrong
Current Position:
E-mail: byuyu_20850@yahoo.com
WEB SITE:
Zhang, Yi
MS: Physics- 2002; Advisor: Thomas P. Armstrong
Current Position:
E-mail:
WEB SITE:

The University of Kansas prohibits discrimination on the basis of race, color, ethnicity, religion, sex, national origin, age, ancestry, disability, status as a veteran, sexual orientation, marital status, parental status, retaliation, gender identity, gender expression and genetic information in the University’s programs and activities. The following person has been designated to handle inquiries regarding the non-discrimination policies and is the University’s Title IX Coordinator: the Executive Director of the Office of Institutional Opportunity and Access, IOA@ku.edu, 1246 W. Campus Road, Room 153A, Lawrence, KS, 66045, (785)864-6414, 711 TTY.