Physics Astronomy motto History of Universe plasma physics quantum evaporation astroparticle physics cosmic rays nuclear physics lhc cern nanotechnology graphene sheet nonlinear dynamics lorenz nonlinear dynamics lorenz particle theory elementary particles particle theory elementary particles spacephysics magnetosphere astrophysics image1 astronomy image2 condensed matter image3 astrobiophysics image5 astrobiophysics image5 particle physics image8 biophysics image7 quantum computing image9

Featured Research


top quark CMS Research Highighted on APS Website
Two papers published by the CMS collaboration, including Drs. Baringer, Bean, Benelli, Murray, Sanders, Sekaric, Stringer, Wang, and Wood, and grad students Danny Noonan and Pat Kenny, were featured on the APS webpage, Viewpoint, spotlighting exceptional research in Physics. The column can be accessed at this link.

Department Banquet

GRADS of 2013/2014
The annual department banquet was held on May 10 at the Lawrence Art Center. The record attendance at the event was coupled to a bumper crop of new graduates. The students graduating over the last 12 months included:
Engineering Physics (BS)
Griffin Adams, Caleb Christianson, Han Zhongyi, Dustin Kerby, Jake Meeth, Phuc Nguyen, Alexander Polsley, Ben Weintrub
Physics BS:
Johnathan Croxell, Abhinav Kumar, Katrina Martin, Greg Pach, Brian Schafer, Benjamin Vail, Amie Vo, Ben Weintrub, Jill Wenderott
Physics BA:
Yasen Ivanov, Daniel Webb
Astronomy BA:
Daniel Webb
Astronomy BS:
Abhinav Kumar, Brian Schafer
Brian Schafer (Astrobiology)

At the Graduate Level:
Masters Recipients:
Chris Gerstenkorn, Yonatan (Jonny) Israeli, Sarah LeGresley, Eddie (James) Orcutt, Matt Russell

Gene Feaster

The Department of Physics and Astronomy is thrilled to announce the receipt of the largest single donation ever to the Department endowed funds. Dr. Gene Feaster (PhD Physics 1953), inventor of Superflab, a medical device used in radiology clinics across the country which has made a lasting improvement in the field of health care, has made a $2 million gift to KU. Of his gift, $1 million established the Ida Johnson Feaster Professorship in the KU School of Nursing. It is named for his late wife, who grew up on a ranch near Emporia and attended graduate school at KU. His gift also created two $500,000 endowed scholarship funds - one in nursing and the other in the Department of Physics and Astronomy. Full details on the donation and Dr. Feaster's exceptional career can be found at this site.



The University of Kansas prohibits discrimination on the basis of race, color, ethnicity, religion, sex, national origin, age, ancestry, disability, status as a veteran, sexual orientation, marital status, parental status, gender identity, gender expression and genetic information in the University’s programs and activities. The following person has been designated to handle inquiries regarding the non-discrimination policies: Director of the Office of Institutional Opportunity and Access,, 1246 W. Campus Road, Room 153A, Lawrence, KS, 66045, (785)864-6414, 711 TTY.